Social Media Marketing Chaos

My dad sent this infographic to me at 8 am this morning…
After politely reminding him that I am a college student and need my beauty sleep he advised me to blog about this email which came in the form of an alarm clock. Needless to say at first glance I was intrigued. This graphic, originally created for a Buddy Media event marking the launch of the social marketing software agency’s new suite of measurement tools, got me thinking.

Are there really that many brands associated with social media? When I think social media the names Facebook and Twitter automatically come to mind but I never would have even considered Mzinga. What the hell is Mzinga? I never realized how many new social media categories, blogs, sharing sites, and social media firms there are out there. Digital marketing to me is somewhat of an overwhelming foreign language. I’m glad we live in a time where anything and everything can be advertised via the Internet. It definitely creates more jobs on the social media marketing front.

As if this graphic wasn’t confusing enough there is an equivalent designed by Luma Partners (a boutique investment bank that provides advice to media and tech companies) for mobile marketing.

Thanks Dad you really got my day off to a complex start.

Leave a Reply

