Seniorly Advice

It was Senior Chapter tonight at my sorority and the premise was that the seniors would give us words of advice using their experiences at the U of O. It was very emotional for us knowing that we won’t be able to see them everyday after graduation but for them it was the end of an era. It seemed as if knowing that their years in college were coming to a close was the most unbearable thought at the time. While they went down the line and each offered us their words of wisdom I noticed a common theme: don’t waste time.

Don’t waste time holding grudges

Don’t waste time on meaningless school work…procrastinate because you’ll still get it done in the end

Don’t waste time with false friendships, the genuine ones are all that matter

Don’t waste time with boyfriends, unless they are good ones

Don’t waste time staying in on a Friday night

Don’t waste time not applying for jobs because you were too lazy

Don’t waste time you could be taking to travel

and most importantly…

Don’t waste time taking yourself too seriously

With all of this sad yet sound advice I plan to live my years left in college to the fullest. I don’t want to look back with regret. You only get 4 years in life to act the way we do–with no regard for consequence. If I were to go out on a Thursday night after college people would think that I’m crazy. My employers would fire me if I showed up to work hungover. This is my time to let it all out before I enter the real world and the rest of my life.

I think Tom Petty said it best:

“You have four years to be irresponsible here. Relax. Work is for people with jobs. You’ll never remember class time, but you’ll remember time you wasted hanging out with your friends. So, stay out late. Go out on a Tuesday with your friends when you have a paper due Wednesday. Spend money you don’t have. Drink ’til sunrise. The work never ends, but college does…”

Of course I take my time in college seriously and want to pave a career path for myself, but that cannot be done without a necessary catharsis of my irresponsibilities.

Leave a Reply

